Back in a few pieces…

So on Tuesday I got a small piece of my dad back which was really comforting. After he passed (suffering from IPF) I did a bit of research online to see if I could make him into something beautiful and I found a great site Forever close memorials basically they offer a service to create pieces of jewelry using a small part of your loved ones ashes. 

After a bit of thought I decided I’d quite like my dad in a charm so that I could carry my dad all over and show him places he’d never been. It also meant he could still walk down the aisle with me (if/when I ever get married) something he always wanted to do. I mentioned it to my mum who also decided on a necklace for herself. Deciding on the colour was the easiest part as my dad loved and looked great in blue. So off we sent a small part of him and after an eight week wait he finally arrived. Exciting!!



The pieces were even more beautiful than I could ever have imagined twinkling in the light. I immediately felt comfortable knowing he was back (in a way) by my side and he literally has been all over with me this week. It’s actually great fun and I can assure you he’s had a fabulous week! 🙂



(Apologies photo is a bit dark… I’ll no doubt be posting plenty more!!)

I’m still off work recovering from my broken wrist and shoulder injury so I haven’t been far but we’ve met friends for lunch, been shopping, been to dan’s family for dinner, been out walking with our dog Harvey and (best of all) we went to see Paloma Faith in concert at Newcastle. “Raver Dave” would have had an absolute blast. When Paloma ended her setlist with a fabulous rendition of Tina Turner’s “River Deep mountain high” (one of my dad’s fave songs) I looked down at my beautiful charm gleaming and couldn’t help but smile while singing my heart out. I’m looking forward to taking him to the States next month and showing him Vegas!!

There’s more good news that tomorrow I’m back at hospital for a scan if all is healed I should (hopefully) get my pink glittery plaster cast off! Wahooooooooo!! I’m looking forward to scrubbing my arm and hopefully getting out for a run!! Even if it’s a small one so I can start my Great North Run training. I’ve been building up a playlist to keep me going through my training plan. Although I need to find some more “power songs” to keep me going. 

What’s your power song for getting you through the tough miles?



Don’t forget I’m running the Great North Run for the British Lung Foundation if you can spare some pennies to donate on my just giving page. I appreciate every penny of sponsorship and it really does keep me going! 

Donate

The British Lung Foundation

Speak soon

Nat xx

Leave a comment